That time of year again

A few days ago the In Remembrance crosses, from the Western Front Association, dropped through my letterbox as they do every year.
It was a busy day today but I had to drop Marlane off somewhere which was not far from the churchyard where Gunner Herbert and Trooper Lane are buried.
The stone of Trooper Lane is looking very grubby so I will go back with a scrubbing brush and clean it up.
The more elaborate grave of Gunner Herbert is usually overgrown with brambles. Last year I cleared it as best I could and sprayed the stump of the bramble with weedkiller. This year there's no brambles but it was covered in other weeds, most of which came up quite easily but others are more deep rooted so sprayed with weedkiller again.
I took my beret with me so that after I'd placed the crosses on the graves I could take a couple of steps back and gave them a snappy salute. I think they deserve that at least.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.