Police stop

A day of useful meetings, with a fraction of the many spinning plates coming into some sort of sensible orbit.

In the evening I went for a couple of hours with Gisela and Tina to the Associação dos Músicos Moçambicanos (Association of Mozambican Musicians) to hear some live music and have a natter. Excellent atmosphere and company.

As I walked back, a police truck hovered alongside just at the unfortunate moment that I was in the street, crossing to enter my building.

Seus documentos’. Your documents.

When they’d established I was carrying documents and that they couldn’t question the visa, they (about 5 of them piled into the truck) starting demanding money for drinks, which I had to refuse. I had bought some snacks for some homeless kids only five minutes earlier but draw a line at law enforcement officials intimidating me out of money when they’re on duty.

Mas somos amigos’. But we’re friends.

Are we though, or have you just demanded my documents in a quiet dark street and only passed them back because I referenced working with a ministry?

Overall, Maputo is a great city. The cathedral always looks lovely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.