Richard P

By ricky_p

Royal Parks Half Marathon

The day had finally come and everything fortunately went to plan. 

Firstly I could get up and have breakfast at a reasonable time as cousin's were near the tube that could take me straight there.

Secondly I jumped from the second pen to the first pen as I couldn't face having to run through all the people who, rightly or wrongly, had selected the fastest pen. By the time I registered using the corporate entry the pen was full. After I moved into this pen by simply walking under the tape they apparently put some more marshals there.

The forecasted showers didn't materialise and it was a pleasant temp so I didn't need the bin liner beforehand.

I just ran off feel, working well in a pack of 5 before this wittled down to just me and a guy from Fulham for the second half. The support was amazing and thanks to some even splits I beat my pb and got under 75 mins which was an optimistic aim 8 weeks back. 

The photos got posted up in the evening and they capture the day well. I didn't get round to taking any photos of the race myself

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.