First Autumnal colours

We were out today walking a route around Castle Drogo that I will be leading tomorrow.  The weather was forecast as showers sun and cloud with strong winds throughout the day.  That is exactly what happened we started with heavy rain and strong winds so I didn't even get the camera out as we headed along the top edge of the hills past Sharp Tor and down to Fingle Bridge.  The rain eased as we walked alongside the River Teign before heading up to Cranford Castle for lunch.  We could hear the odd grunting from pigs somewhere in the woods arounds us.  The Autumnal colours were only just starting to show and I took this shot of the slopes on our return route along Hunters Path back to Castle Drogo.  I was delighted to find many different types of fungi including the first Fly Agaric I have seen this year, see extras.

We got to the tearooms just in time for a cream tea before the next bout of rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.