Danksound's Musing

By Danksound

The Cordwainer

I was all over the place today. I had to get up early to take the car in for it’s MOT and service. Then I was off to Queensbury for an osteopath appointment. I had to go by tube (metro) and the line was disrupted because NOT ENOUGH TRAINS. I got thrown off twice along the way as it was as far as it was going. I thought I was going to be late but fortunately I had left early. I then travelled into the city to meet a friend for coffee. The picture is a statue and the old name of a shoe and boot maker. My grandfather had a shoe shop in Lichfield and he came to London to deal in shoes when he was a young man although I think originally it was material and wigs going back in my family tree. Watling Street area was the shoe making centre pre 1900 as far as I am aware. The extra is on the corner of Watling Street and Bow Street. And yes I bought a cake hahaha.
I went to collect the car later in the day with a new MOT certificate and nothing to do but the service thank goodness. What a relief.

More info if you are interested https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cordwainer

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.