Thepainterswife

By Thepainterswife

Sunday morning duck rescue

I met my neighbour this morning.
We’ve lived next to each other for a while but because we have tall fences we’ve never actually seen each other !

It came about this morning because a family of beautiful Paradise ducks had ventured into her garden and were reluctant to leave. With three little babies the parents were getting very vocal and protective.  I heard the noise and wondered what was happening!

I popped my head up over the fence and Kate( ny new friend) told me that they’d appeared there really early in the morning.
We have water ways in the valley but not right here so it’s a bit of a mystery how they got there.
Anyway I decided to call for some help and information on how to get them to somewhere safer , away from cats and traffic.
I remembered that fellow blipper Gingernan is an expert on bird rescue. I called her and she was very helpful.
Seemed the best thing was to let them be and eventually the parents would move.the family on.

Well, Gingernan , you were right.
After 4 hours of grazing in the neighbours garden they came over to our garden ( through a very small gap under the fence), and my husband guided them out to the street and to the creek and reserve.

I couldn’t get any great photos but this one shows the family heading out of the neighbours garden.... few seconds later they turned around and sat back on the grass for an hour before coming over to us!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.