life through Penny's Eyes

By princesspink77

9/365 - Buddha Stones

Wednesday, 9th January 2013
Todays ODC challenge has had me racking my brains all day to come up with something! I am trying to take part each day and doing well so far but today had me stumped! As it got to 11pm I decided to go with my emergency blip of three stones stacked upon one another. A friend who we went up to Skegness with for New Year had mentioned she had seen stacked rocks on the internet and she wanted to make some! I thought what a nice idea and when on the beach came across three rocks that happened to stack perfectly together.
Whilst awaiting for the picture to upload to here I decided to use Google to see if I could see where she had seen these rocks and was pleasantly pleased to see the following description on a Buddhist Forum!

"Three stones stacked on each other can be used as a Buddha image, representing the three jewels of Buddha, Dharma, Sangha, and the three parts of the body stacked in the posture of meditation: legs crossed as the base stone, the body stretching upward, the head and shoulders balanced on top"

I quite like the sentiment, my Mum is a big fan of Buddha statues and has given me a few from her travels, my stack of rocks feel like my good luck rocks now! Lets hope they bring some luck and love to my family and friends!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.