Same door...

...different people. Today’s family are my sister Jacalyn and my two beautiful nieces, Grace and Silan. We had lunch out at Pizza Express.

I went with Mum and Dad to their church this morning. It was beautifully decorated for Harvest, with bread in the shape of a wheat sheaf at the altar, complete with mouse. I was reminded of John Betjeman’s poem, “Diary of a Church Mouse”:

“For human beings only do
What their religion tells them to.
They read the Bible every day
And always, night and morning, pray,
And just like me, the good church mouse,
Worship each week in God’s own house,
But all the same it’s strange to me
How very full the church can be
With people I don’t see at all
Except at Harvest Festival.”

Last night’s film was unexpectedly gripping - “Official Secrets” - the story of GCHQ whistleblower Katharine Gun’s attempt to prevent the Iraq War in 2003. Chilling stuff.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.