Sonnenblume

A most pleasant surprise at the Hathern corner as I was driving to the RPS meeting in Whatton in the Vale today. A small patch of sunflowers opposite the nurseries backlit by the sun.

I just had to stop, but I didn't have viable footwear or support to clamber down a wet, grassy slope, so this shot will have to do.

Ian Berry, the longest serving Magnum photographer came to talk to us today showing a wide range of work.

In the afternoon, we reviewed our project from May, The Colours of Whatton, photos of which have been published in a small book by Stewart Wall, our group leader. No ISBN number though and I wouldn't recommend rushing out to get a copy. Interesting variety of panels though. Twelve photographers, including me, contributed. I was the only female to do so.

I think we decided that Whatton was somewhat anonymous. There are no allotments because, as one lady told one of our photographers, 'We all have gardens.'

My extra today is of a shrub in Whatton exhibiting the wonderful colours of Autumn. Truly the colours of Whatton.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.