must try harder

By halfcj

At the going down of the sun...

A long-standing golfing partner of mine sadly and prematurely passed away over the weekend. We had a falling out some 15 years ago now and rarely spoke in that time. It was a matter of principal for me and in truth, others before me. As friend and golfing partner, I had taken longer to see.

Single all his life in a professional career, he shared his lifes spoils and lovely house...with himself, subsequently inheriting his parents home and his aunts estate. I fear he came to the end in the same way as he lived his life. Pretty much alone.

As I was making my way to meet my son, his partner and my granddaughter tonight, my mind wandered as I watched the sun set, and I could not help but reflect upon the good days together, our names etched in gold on several competition boards adorning the walls of our beloved Wentworth Golf Club, in perpetuity. Hardly a legacy I accept, but it was the small solace I found as I pondered the passing of an old friend and the sadness of what our friendship had become.

I will remember him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.