Lake Tekapo

We started the day with breakfast in a cafe in Wanaka and a delightful but all too brief meeting with Dups, The Boss of Tussock Tales and A Cycling Granny.

The chocolate fish goes to Dups today. She is the one who told me this morning in Wanaka that the Haast Pass through to the West Coast was closed. I didn't really believe her as I thought the slip had been cleared. Dups was right. No Haast trip for us today!

Instead we came through the middle of the country which has its advantages as it meant I got to drive through the Lindis Pass and stop in Tekapo, 2 of my favourite parts of New Zealand.

The Church of the Good Shepherd was built in 1935 for the pioneer families in the area. As you can see it was built to make the most of the superb view up the lake. Surely a view to enhance contemplation and worship.

The church is opened most days by members of the congregation and any may enter to contemplate, photograph and take part in any services. It is a place that moves even me to reverence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.