Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Bloodlines

My Sister was contacted recently by someone who believed she may be a relative, the Granddaughter of a great Aunt. She remembered visiting them, probably in the 1960s, and seeing some American visitors and a cabinet of glass, including glass tubing which spelt the name, Norah, my Nana (grandmother).

After much head-scratching, we thought we put the story together, and proof, if needed, was the glass ornament which is now one of the few things I have of that side of the family. It was made my by Grandfather, a scientific glass-blower for his wife, my Nana, and demonstrates vapour liquid equilibrium as by heating the lower bulb the volatile liquid rises up to the top bulb, spelling the name. The effect is often used to “measure” one’s love or passion - the faster it rises the greater the passion!

I took an iPad photo of it and played in Snapseed to turn it into a mono image for the MonoMonday 300th challenge with the theme Lines.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.