Redcar Starling Ablutions

We travelled west to east today and hit the North Sea and the Steel works in Redcar, the place where Rob spent the first few years of his life living with his Mum and the Maternal Grandparents.  No relatives there now, and not too many memories, but he likes to go occasionally and visit the street where they lived.  I must admit, the beach there is fabulous!  Lovely clean sand going on for a very long way - not unlike Bamburgh except Redcar has the steel works at the end instead of a Castle.  It also has an expensively created Promenade and sea wall, loads of birds, especially starlings and some, in my opinion, photogenic wind turbines.  You can see some of the beach in extras.  We then went along to Saltburn on our way to Whitby and I was mesmerised by the pier, trying to use shutter priority to play with the light and the water.

I hadn't seen so many starlings close to for years and they were enjoying sprucing themselves up in the puddles.  They were very skittish which I found a bit frustrating considering how the birds in the Galapagos islands just stand stock still for ages!

A lovely day.  Looking forward to Whitby tomorrow.

The finger is looking a bit better now.  Still not right though.  Antibiotics are finished and we have an appointment to go back to the nurse again on Friday.

Thank you all for your support as I was having a bit of a down day yesterday.  My Mom is always with me but I always sense that especially when I see a robin.  There was one of those having a wash in Redcar today too...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.