Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Seals at Sunrise

With Mrs B heading off early this morning to go to Glasgow for some shopping with a friend, I decided, for a bit of a change, to drive over the hill to Torrisdale to catch the sunrise. While the forecast was for fog, it was clear and frosty with just enough clouds about to get some colours as the sun reached for the horizon.

As I stood at the edge of the rocky shore, a seal popped its head out of the water to see what was going on. Before long it was joined by another 5 seals and they all swam about keeping an eye on me. I tried getting some shots of them in the foreground of the sunrise, but they proved to be no more than large black dots. In any case, when I came to review the many shots I took I much preferred the low level ones of the sun breaking over the horizon and glistening off the wet rocks.

It clouded over after the sunrise with the frost remaining on the ground. However, as I write the skies have cleared and it is a grand day. Here's hoping for a few more like this!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.