MumOf4Wildlings

By MumOf4Wildlings

Life is like a spiral

According to ancient philosophy Life is not a cycle but a spiral.
The last couple of day's my life has been feeling this way. That what I think I am learning about autism and how to deal with the biggest wildling totally just comes back and bites me on the ass.
Yesterday before my mum arrived he had been in meltdown mode a couple of times. I totally understood why, that it was going to be a different day for him etc. And he did so well holding everything together.

Today started off on the wrong foot for him. A simple demand sent him haywire. And of course we had to leave and catch a bus so I couldn't just let him come out of it in his time. But then he did so well having a lunch treat at Gregg's and then the 4of us went to the swimming pool for the first time. PIN had hired out the whole pool for us all and we had a blast.
Fast forward a few hours later after a play with his cousins and the walk home was just awful. He didn't want to come, he tried hiding in the tunnel and was about 50ft behind us. And just refused to move. I had to try and take his hand as well as pushing the buggy and the middle wildling did so well being stuck in it all. The hand holding/being walked forcefully wasn't working. He was screaming like he was being murdered. I had to put him over my shoulder and carry him. Quite difficult when I'm heavily pregnant.
My neighbour and her eldest son drove past us and thankfully a couple of minutes later drove back to us and shouted for X to race them home. That did the trick. Her son got out the car and ran with them both. She works with children like X and she seen that I was holding it together as best as I could. I'm so thankful for people like her. And most of my neighbours totally understand X and his needs .
So yes today has been a spiral, and I hope that tomorrow is better for us. Maybe one of these day's I will start to understand him better. Or at least his Autism and demand avoidance.

Sorry blip, I needed a wee vent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.