Century

My Dad was born one hundred years ago today.
The photo is of a gold locket my mother wore often, all marks are quite worn,  I can’t find a Hallmark. She gave it to me many years ago . My dad is on the left my sister as a baby on the right . 
All three of them have now died.
I looked on the Internet, unimaginable a hundred years ago and couldn’t find out anything very interesting from that day, except that anti Bolshevik soldiers were fighting on the South Russia front.
I did find the Hansard ( Parliamentary goings-on) entry from that day. It seems there was some talk about importing goods from Germany but they apparently had little to export at that time.


”GERMAN GOODS.
HC Deb 23 October 1919 vol 120 cc170-1170
12. Captain BENN 
asked the President of the Board of Trade whether ho was taking any steps to prevent other countries from importing goods from Germany at the present favourable exchange and re-exporting them to this country at a profit?
§Mr. BRIDGEMAN 
No action in the direction indicated has been necessary up to the present, because, according to information received by my right hon. Friend, Germany has no great quantity of goods to sell to any buyers at present.
Mr. TERRELL 
Is it not a fact that goods are now being delivered 5n this country from Germany?
§Mr. BRIDGEMAN 
Not in any quantity.”

Hansard 23 October 1919

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.