Age Concern

Saying goodbye never gets any easier. We used to have a tearful parting at the station but since my Mum's hip is so painful, she now waves me off from the front door. Dad hopes that her operation will happen soon but I hope that it wont because she has only just been diagnosed with coeliac disease and is still underweight and anaemic. This is Dad going off after breakfast to collect his car, which he pranged on the way back from taking Mum to hospital last week. He probably shouldn't be driving at all but says he needs the car to take Mum around and do the shopping. Tomorrow he will be at the hospital for a procedure and thankfully we have persuaded him that driving there and back isn't sensible. I am very grateful to Age Concern who have volunteer drivers in Uckfield and they are able to take him as my sister and brother, who help when they can, are working.

On the table you can see 'his and hers' boxes of pills and their hearing aids. All this will be very familiar to many of you blippers, I'm sure.

I'm on the train to London now, to visit Sarah. In 30 years time, she could be the one writing this - that's how life goes, I guess. In the meantime, we will enjoy each other's company to the full while we still can :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.