MaybeDaily

By MaybeDailyBob

Sound II

It occurred to me that I had only taken one photograph in the Cathedral. So today I headed back.
There is a well in the crypt and in wet weather (it has rained a bit recently) the crypt floods. Health & Safety means they can't do the tours but it is possible to stand on the raised platform and look in. Water mean reflections and as this water has risen through the chalk beds it is very clear.
Sound II is a life-size statue of a man contemplating the water held in his cupped hands (obviously he hasn't noticed it up round his knees yet). It is the work of Antony Gormley and it is made from lead out of a plaster cast of the artist's own body.
I like the reflections in the clear water. This shot must have been taken thousands of times (and quite a few times on Blip too) but then one cannot always be original.
I decided I like it best in B&W

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.