fitzbilly

By fitzbilly

Water Water Everywhere

I was tempted to tag this as Wide Wednesday as the subject is water, lots of which we had dripping through the ceiling yesterday evening. I discovered it was coming from pipework under the en-suite bath but I couldn't stop it by turning the water off. Luckily we have plumbing insurance (not much use as they only offered me a visit to fix it today) but even more luckily we have emergency cover on our home insurance so they arranged for a plumber to visit last night. He stopped the leak by simply switching off an isolator valve, which hadn't occurred to me as the leak appeared to be coming from a joint before the valve. The plumber thought that by closing the valve it probably pushed a seal back against the leaky joint.

Today we had the plumbing insurance plumber (a very nice lady with purple hair) and of course when she switched the valve back on it wasn't leaking. She replaced it though, which was a long job involving several trips up into the loft to isolate a header tank.

I really do hate anything to do with plumbing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.