yvonnekgray

By Dollykgray

CATS

I went to Vienna with my neighbour this afternoon to see Cats. The outing was run by the Seniors club and I was in 2 minds as to whether I would go to see it again. I had seen Cats in the 80's and enjoyed it but there was a lot of negative criticism and almost a stigma if you had seen it. 
I was curious to see why Cats was held to be so unpopular so I Googled the critiques. Cats was dubbed as the musical that people love to hate. It seemed that the common thread was that the story line was weak. Really? It is a musical based on a set of poems. I don't recall T. S. Eliot being criticised because his poems lacked a plot. Obviously, people expect more from a musical than great dancing, great singing, great costumes. Cats doesn't pretend to be anything more than what it is. 
Anyway, I went and thoroughly enjoyed it. The costumes, the dancing, singing and the energy were fabulous. The cast received a standing ovation. I am glad that my previous doubts about seeing the show were dispelled and am no longer embarrassed to admit that I have seen it twice. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.