Ibby

This morning I went to Chris' to have my hair cut and it was good to catch up on his news, then I called at Sainsbury's to do a food shop.  It wasn't raining when I got there, but when I came out there was the most torrential rain ever and my brolly was in the car!  Luckily I had a hat in my bag, but I still got soaked.

Next stop was Crawley to meet Ibby who had landed in Gatwick from Dubai at 7am this morning, he was on a back to back flight and was being picked back up at 6.30pm  for another night flight which must be pretty tough.  He’d messaged me last week to say that he’d been in Gatwick and asked if I was free to meet up. Our original plan was to meet at Crawley station and go for a coffee, but with the rain he messaged me and asked if I'd mind meeting him at the hotel where he was.  This was a good call as the hotel car park was underground so it meant I didn't get wet.

It was lovely to meet up with him off duty, as both other times he's been working while we've been passengers on the flight.  We sat in the hotel bar and had a hot chocolate and a coffee while we chatted and I met some of other Emirates air stewardesses that came over to say hello - they all seem to love Ibby, but that's not surprising as he's such a nice guy. He told me that the return flight was over subscribed so some lucky passengers would be getting upgraded to business class!

I left at 2.30pm as I was conscious that he didn't have much time and he said he was going to skype his family as he's unable to do that in Dubai, and he also wanted to try and get a bit of sleep before heading back to work.  It must be really difficult coping with the different time zones which such a short stop over.

Luckily the rain stopped and my drive home wasn't as bad as my journey there when the roads were quite flooded!

In other news, you may remember that last year I witnessed a guy driving through Hove at high speed which resulted in him crashing into an Estate Agent's shop front trapping two women?  Well he was up in court this week and I received an email from the Police to let me know the outcome of the trial - he was found not guilty to dangerous driving with no evidence offered!  How an earth can that happen where there were about 20 witnesses?  It's unbelievable!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.