Cameras

I'm sure several people have noted the demise of Jessops in their blip journals over the last day or so, and indeed it was something I was thinking about a little on the bike as I wandered up Leith Street with a very heavy load on the bike (and therefore travelling at a snail's pace). I'm certainly the sort of person who likes to feel a camera in her hand before purchasing it, but equally it is clear that Jessop's business model was just not working against competition from supermarkets and of course a well known online retailer called taxdodger.co.uk (emphasising the fact it is dodging tax **here** whatever it pays elsewhere....).

So I'm not sure what I'll do next time I want to buy a camera, and I'm sure, given the grip of the blip obsession not to mention the fact that my son says that I cannot walk five yards without taking a photograph, that won't be that far away. I bought the last one from Jessops, so maybe I'll go looking for some of the smaller retailers, or maybe just take a plunge online after doing my research and consulting the blip forums.

In other news, I've succumbed to the purchase of Things. People have long told me it was the best 'to do' app out there, with versions for ipad and mac (and iphone, but I'm not likely to have one of those any time soon). I'd like there to be as many versions as there are of Evernote (i.e. for Android and for windows) and I'd like access from my work PC (failing a windows app) via the Cloud, but none of this is (yet) available. Meanwhile, it is a clean little app which definitely does what it says on the tin, and suggests a higher level of organisation and prioritisation is possible than has been achieved with manual to do lists over the last few months.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.