Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Cook school

It’s not easy to find the photo that captures the whole essence of today, but this is the best I managed. My daughter-in-law invited the girls over for a cooking session with their cousins - if sorbet and ice-cream making counts as cooking, along with the creation of Hallowe’en biscuits. (Granddaughter Anna, 8, overheard: “I’m making Boris Johnson”).

They zested lemons and squeezed them; they ate as many biscuits as they decorated; they consumed witches’ hat sausage rolls and when it was all over vanished upstairs together. I feel I probably failed their fathers terribly in the lack of this kind of thing in their childhood, but have convinced myself that my tiny kitchen played as big a part as my disinclination.

And the sorbet was excellent, to say nothing about the Nutella ice cream. Sensationally good and sensationally unwise ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.