Always tell an adult where you are going . . .

Backblip
Across to Gills Bay on the 7.45am ferry, which meant a very early start for Lottie, who doesn't really like moving from her our bed before 9am!  A perfect crossing and a leisurely drive down to Aberfeldy with Lottie attached to my seatbelt, catching up on her sleep on my knee.  I should probably make clear that Mike was driving. . . . !

We parked up at The Birks.  The trees are spectacular!  All the autumn colours and the berries!  After 40+ years of living in Orkney where the leaves just blow off the trees and bushes or simply go black in the gales, it so wonderful to see them.  

After an early tea I decided to take Lottie for a bit of a walk, telling Mike I would be back for the Archers, but the circular walk was a bit longer than I had appreciated and it was just about pitch dark when I got back.  I did have my torch with me, a nice sturdy one which I thought might be a useful defensive weapon if there were undesirables lurking in the undergrowth.  It came in very handy to light our way down the huge number of steep, wet, slippy steps as Lottie and I came down at a sort of fell running pace - a rapid jog trot!  

I have now given Mike cause to worry by this sort of fool hardy escapade three times: told Mike I wouldn't be long when I set off for a dog walk and then not come home when expected or in the dark.  One never knows whether it's better to keep going or turn round when it's a circular walk, there is never a phone signal and when you are looking at scenery, toadstools, lichens, waterfalls and taking photos you tend to lose track of time.  

Mike came to look for me and met me but not before he had met another walker had told him how slippy and steep it was and how she had advised me to turn round!  She then appeared at the van door to check I had got back safely.  I didn't mean to worry everyone!  Mea culpa!

Slept well, in the company of a couple of other vans, hearing the noise of the river and the crashing of waterfalls . . . 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.