olib

By olib

Why I wanted to move to Abergavenny

Vegetarians, look away!

Believe it or not, before we moved here, the only thing I knew about Abergavenny was that on a holiday with my parents when I was very young, we stopped here and ate faggots in the market, and the memory stayed with me and how marvellous they were.

Well, here they are. Not actually from the market, but from Richard's the butchers. Those that I have tried since moving here from the market itself were, I have to say, absolutely revolting.

If your don't know faggots, or think the word means something different, they are various bits of pigs minced up and wrapped in caul fat. It doesn't do to enquire any closer than that. Today, the news has been full of how much food is wasted in the world, and one of the things is the wastage of what are perceived as less desirable bits of animals, such as offal. The answer is faggots. World saved!

Anyway, believe me, Richard's of Abergavenny's faggots - they're great! [Note: to be scrupulously honest, the gravy is mine.]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.