things, bits & bobs...

By Nicpic

Tawny....

What a simply beautiful bird the tawny owl is. It's the one owl that I haven't seen very much - I've been lucky enough to spend quite a bit of time watching and photographing the other four UK owls. So it was a photo of a tawny owl that hooked me into paying for this birds of prey workshop day at the Swinton Estate near Masham. 

The day was mixed for me - just loved the very calm tawny owl as it posed beautifully in stunning light and the autumn colours of the trees. The other bird in the morning was a little owl...not so into that one as I have spent hours watching them wild locally. This aft was a kestrel and I wasn't into that one much either - I would have preferred to spend time with an owl that I don't see - great grey owl/snowy owl but as always with a group, you are led by what the majority want.

They have fallow deer on the estate and a bonus highlight today was to hear the stags bellowing away. All in all, glad I went :) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.