Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

Nancy and Nina

Or, news from the Sweatshop.  I've been doing a lot of stitching this last few days. When I suggested that I'd like to tackle a sampler quilt for this term's project at the class I go to, I had no idea what I was letting myself in for. Not that it's particularly tricky stuff we're doing, it's the pressure to get it perfect!!  I keep reminding myself, finished is better than perfect, and I'm determined to keep up with the class, as getting behind just adds to the stress. Then I keep reminding myself that I'm doing this for fun ....  and I do enjoy it, when it goes well ...

It has been a gorgeous day, but I've been in the sweatshop workshop for most of it. So here's a hasty picture of sewing machines. Nina, at the back, is an all-singing, all-dancing self-styled sewing computer, and Nancy, at the front, is a good, solid, Clydebank built, last for ever, Singer 201.  Guess which one does the best straight stitch.

A few weeks back I went to a funeral where I met up with some of my cousins. Today one of them (I hadn't seen him for 50 years) rang to say he was going to email me some old family pictures, and minutes later one arrived. The miracles of modern communications. I don't know who it is, but she's wearing the most amazing hat!  And he tells me that one of my many-times-greatgrandfathers was press-ganged!  I hope I'm going to learn a lot more from him in due course.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.