Mystery Fungus

When I first saw this isolated fungus hidden away in the grasses of the dunes of Belhaven Beach I thought it might be a Fly Agaric specimen. However, it does not have the white speckled bits which usually adorn the Fly Agaric cap. I therefore tried to identify it through the internet and think it might be a Pink Domecap, Rugosomyses carneus which is relatively rare in in the uk although it occurs throughout most of Europe. I was not able to look underneath at its gills and have had to rely on enlarging the image to try and identify it. If any of you out there know what it is I would be very pleased to hear from you. The other thing I have significantly failed to find is my reference book on fungi. which I bought a few years ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.