Happy returns

LD and D came over again today to celebrate her birthday. Thankfully, the floods have dissipated enough that traffic can pass easily and they had no issues getting here.

The original plan was a smart, hotel restaurant type of tea but this was downgraded to our place due to Berry's arrival. So out came the smart, non-dishwasher safe crockery, the silver cutlery and the beautiful little hand embroidered table cloth. Berry managed to snatch the corner of the latter and drag it off the table (fortunately before I'd put anything more than a little vase of garden flowers on it) so plan B had to be used with the cloth square on. Minor things but possible major consequences! I'd thought she wouldn't notice the very slight overhang - silly me.

Her special request for a coffee cake was fulfilled by LH, his first cake ever and a very tasty one too! I'm handing over cake baking duties right now!

We were all quite tired; LD and D had been out to dinner last night, LH got up earlyish for Berry and my sleep was again terrible due to the tooth. For once I'm pleased to be seeing a dentist tomorrow. The ache didn't stop me eating birthday cake though - there are priorities!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.