Mizuki Coincidences

Lots of strange Shigeru Mizuki coincidences have been taking place recently. On Saturday, I bought a book about battleships at the International Food Fair. The man who sold it to me asked me if I was aware that two battleships from the Battle Of Midway were discovered a few days ago. I was not, but I am currently reading about the Battle Of Midway in Shigeru Mizuki's Showa and the two battleships which were discovered are mentioned in both the manga and the book about battleships. As I mentioned before, on the same day as I went to the International Food Fair, I found the spot where Shigeru Mizuki used to live just five minutes walk from where I live.

Today, I went to Mizuki-dori in Shinkaichi. This is where Shigeru Mizuki was working as a porter when he had his first work of manga published. While I was out, Arthur turned on the T.V. and what was on? A drama about Shigeru Mizuki's wife. I found the street, but there was nothing to commemorate Mizuki.

Today's photo was taken at Minatogawa Shrine, near Shinkaichi.

On a different subject, this morning I went to the doctor for a consultation regarding the results of the health check I had in August. He got the feeling that my kidneys might be too small for my body, so I gave a blood sample and had a C.T. scan. He sent those to Tokyo and I will return to the surgery tomorrow to find out what the tests revealed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.