Resolutions

By RonRagsdale

Midday Sun

I was really looking forward to taking some shots in the fog today, but I timed it wrong. Too early and the trees were too obscured. Then when I went out at lunch time, the fog had completely lifted. The mist was still drifting overhead, occasionally obscuring the sun, so I thought that might make an interesting shot. I don't think I have another photo of the sun that isn't at sunset or sunrise. Not very easy to get a mid-day shot! 

Not a brilliant photo, but I like how this gives you a real sense of the sun as a celestial, almost planetary body. Makes me realise fundamentally that the sun and the planets are all the same sort of thing, the sun just was massive enough to ignite, and the rest of the stuff just coalesced differently, into planets. So, the biggest one gets the central role, and the others get to orbit it. It really is a big round ball in space.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.