Banks

Bright orange and blue synthetic hemp rope tucked at the far end of the Ropery sit neatly on their ‘Banks’ - the big square wooden stands - reminiscent of the cotton reels neatly lined up in my sewing box. Made me feel like a shrunken Alice in Wonderland.

The sound department for today’s film crew were lucky enough to have access to a closed off area of the Ropery allowing them shelter from the wind and rain as the camera crew filmed on the street outside.

Meanwhile those of us in the locations department got absolutely drenched. It was slightly more bearable owing to the great barista coffee van production had laid on and my warm waterproof coat. Smiles came from the horses I made friends with on set.

Locking up the Ropery at night was, as always, a surreal experience. The echoes along the 1/4 mile building of my footsteps, creaking floorboards and wind rattling around the windows give an eerie ambience.

There is something quite special about being completely alone in a building constructed in 1785. On other occasions various film crew have asked to accompany me but the feeling is quite different when you’re alone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.