Herding his Hinds

It was the last morning of the wonderful sunny weather. It would have been a shame to waste it.

Basil and I went back to Bradgate Park, this time parking at Hunts Hill by Old John at the top of the park. We set off round the back of the folly and the memorial soon finding that it crossed a very wet and boggy section. But we soldiered on and found ourselves crossing the path that led from the coppice that we visited yesterday.

Two groups of red deer lay below us. The uppermost group was settled, lying in the grass. The lowermost group, pictured, seemed a bit skittish. The stag was anxiously herding his hinds together as well as chasing off impudent younger males. He was not helped by three photographers closing in on him acting like a pack of velociraptors. Two to distract, one to make the kill. I'm sure a park ranger would have had a word if he'd seen them.

I could have walked down the hill to get a closer view, but I was getting tired and my bladder was complaining. Basil was too far away to spot the animals, fortunately.

Met John on the way out. Clive was also somewhere in the park. Nice to actually meet photographers who you know.

Needed a bit of a snooze when I got in. Len kindly made me cups of tea and a sandwich.

Basil had thoroughly enjoyed his run out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.