PeteWpics

By PeteWpics

Seems like Spring is here

Spent a lot of the day removing a large lilac from the bottom of the garden. It was producing a lot of leaf relative to the amount of flower it displayed and was crowding out that part of the garden. It needs a more open plant there and we've been looking for a place to plant our pear tree which has spent its first summer with us in a pot. I'd guess the lilac was at least 30 years old by the size of the rootball. Luckily lilacs don't have taproots so judicious use of pick axe, garden fork and bow saw eventually persuaded it to let go of its grip on the soil. I was left with a very large hole which I did consider blipping but try as I might I couldn't get it to look photogenic. So here's a blip of a totally unseasonal cowslip coming into flower in the border by the garage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.