earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Heather Burning

On the day when the swelling went down enough to allow me to limp up to the moor. 

The heather burning on the north side of the valley has been an almost constant sight this last three days or so. I suspect it's more about what tradition says is best for the grouse moors rather than any kind of science. It doesn't look right. It doesn't feel right. Much as though I love running over the open moors, I'm thinking more and more than they should be wilded to become forests. It kind of kills me that such common-sense environmental policy is near-nigh impossible to implement.

It's also kind of killing me that we finally have a spell of calm, dry weather and I've been unable to properly get out and enjoy it. Damn it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.