fotoday

By fotoday

evening tipple

We have got in the habit of taking a good walk along the promenade at sunrise, before breakfast, and again in the opposite direction at sunset, before cocktails tipple. This evening I took my camera too with the sole purpose of photographing the rock stacks 10 minutes or so to the west of our hotel. It is a rocky outlet to a dry riverbed and there are lots of them. I had taken a liking to this stack and was happily taking photos when this boy walked into the shot.  At first I was muttering under my breath, how dare he mess my shot up and then he did this, I was suddenly full of praise for him.
In the day I am not one for sitting on sunbeds so any sign of wildlife I am off exploring butterflies lizards etc. There is also a resident female kestrel that hovers around the grounds of our hotel that has kept me amused. She has a favourite perch high on the top corner of one of the hotel turrets. I was watching her and she showed signs of being about to fly (a poo and head nodding). I was amazed when she dived and swooped  within 3 meters of my head, what a sight! I scurried to get my camera and put the big lens on it thinking she would be long gone but no there she was perched on a wall and I was able to creep closer hiding behind sun parasols. She saw me but didn't seem to mind, the photos are in extra. Apparently Tenerife kestrels feed mainly on small birds as there aren't many rodents and voles on the island.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.