Deep Shame

I really ought not to be recording this but it does at least show that Brexit is more than car gearboxes & avocadoes.

I have a mobile phone & have been an avid user of WhatsApp but for the last six months, it has lain forlorn by my side most of the time. So it was a bit of a surprise as Cousin Kathrin & partner Kimo were standing on the doormat this morning & I had no idea they were coming.

A few weeks ago they had said they would be in the area for a few days break & on the way home to Heidelberg area, they would drop by. I had responded saying great, just give me 24hours notice of when. They did - 48 hours & then 24 hours but I didn't read the messages. No help but at least I could show them the dozens of unanswered WhatsApp messages from a range of family & friends.

Being a Sunday, no chance of buying any food but luckily Angie found enough to keep us fed & watered while we spent the whole day & into early evening sitting outside under the umbrella to get some shade from the warm blinding sun.

Sadly they brought the news that Katrin's Dad & my Uncle/Brother/Das was taken to hospital two days ago but luckily seems he is OK & should be home in two days. K&K said they would be going home this evening. After they had gone, I read the WhatsApp messages & saw they had wanted to stay a night with us! They had simply been diplomatic & said they needed to get back to visit Dad!

Felt dreadful. I am aware of how much in my personal life is suffering from Brexit & how disruptive it is to people close to me.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.