Black and white

In the earlier stages of my Mother’s dementia, things were very black and white (and repetitive) - as in, Mum asked and we answered, being as straight and as uncomplicated as possible.

Nowadays, nothing is black and white - it’s all so complicated. From what I understand from older folk about how I should handle her current levels of confusion, I need to go along with it - which basically means not being truthful.

Have you got your car?
Yes. It’s parked outside.
Will you take me home and stay for a cup of tea?
Where do you want to go?
To my parents house, of course. That’s where I live.
Ok. Perhaps later we can go there.
Are you going to get your car now?

... and so it goes on. If I correct her, she gets very angry and very upset. I have to leave her under the pretence of getting the car nearer. Otherwise, she gets very very agitated, upset and begins to shout.

So strangely, this way seems kinder. But I don’t like doing it. Apparently she waits after I’ve gone, and forgets what she’s waiting for.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.