Last working day

Today was the last day in my current position at UMCG hospital. As of next week, I will be working for the radiotherapy department of the hospital. Much to my surprise, quite a bit of “farewell festivities” were organized, with speeches, presents and of course drinks.

Already humbled by all the kindness, I noticed that the interface monitor also had a message to display in my honour. Of course the “thank you” message was displayed with one of the interfaces I designed and developed.

We then went out to dinner with the people I had worked with closely the last two years. It was a great evening. For me, saying goodbye was really hard. I am not leaving because I was unhappy in my job: I am leaving because I think my new position at the radiotherapy department is a great new direction for me to develop myself. The team I’m leaving was already understaffed so I know I’m not making things any easier for them. All this means leaving them is a hard thing to do, but all the same I’m looking forward to starting in my new role next week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.