Some things stay the same

I used to know Leeds like the back of my hand, I could drive through and round and in and out with no problem, I could walk the city centre, find anywhere I wanted and the quickest way to it. Now, on the odd occasion that we are there, it’s like a totally new city. And it is so disorientating - I see some building I recognise, but it seems to be in the wrong place and new ones have sprung up from nowhere and I can’t remember what was there before. Then some things are the same as they always were, just a little the worse for wear. I have known the lions since I was a very small child and used to visit Leeds with my grandparents. Always brings back memories.

We have had a great week with our grandaughter. It has been a joy to be in her company and I think we all gained from the experience. We travelled south this morning, met up with her dad and left them to complete the journey home. We are now in Leeds to see Oysterband and June Tabor at the City Hall. We will of course be travelling back late tonight so Gordon can be ready to watch something tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.