Today and 9 years ago

We started early today and drove to Herning for a Nose Work trial. It is a 2½ hour drive and it became even longer due to an accident on the way out and weekend traffic towards Copenhagen on the way home. Gosh, it has been a long day!

I stopped 10 minutes before arriving at the venue to walk dogs and I was surprised, when I spotted this poster... I remembered it from 9 years ago, when we travelled to Herning for our first World Championship. Back then I took a picture of my dogs in front of it, so I did again today. 

You can see my original 9 years old picture in the extra. My dogs back then were Biscuit, Robbie (Hero's great grandfather and Gollum's Great great grandfather), Beat and Whisper (Robbie's son). 

In the new picture from today it is Biscuit, Hero and Gollum. Only Biscuit is in both of the pictures, but the collies I have today are closely related to those that I had 9 years ago. 

Hero is 9 years old, so he must have joined the pack soon after the original picture was taken. 

Anyway - Gollum had a good Nose Work trial. He missed one of the searches. He didn't manage to find it in the 2 minutes he had. The 3 other searches were excellent, so I am pleased. He is a clever clever little man. 

I realised today though, that he had not had a day off from training since 20th October, so tomorrow is a day off BIG TIME for my beautiful little Gollum. We will enjoy a long walk and lots of cuddles, but no training at all. 

My blip today has been a walk down memory lane and has left me with a smile on my face. You can read about our first World Championship here! It was an amazing experience. 

Happy weekend
Emmy and the Hazyland Boys

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.