And a top coat! The gaping flaky hole between the rotten stool (as I think it is called) and the stone sill has vanished. Even I, who spent hours filling and sanding and trying to make it look like wood, am impressed.

MariainWales was with me today with her car, so as the paint was drying during our last promised day of dry weather, she very kindly drove us and the stuff that I hope has some value to the new, impressive Oxfam Superstore, then the rest to the recycling centre. 

I've known for a while that the Oxfam Superstore was coming. It opened on 9 September, selling large items alongside Oxfam's usual second-hand clothes, fair-trade chocolate and hand-made cards. It is an inspired venture and seems to be doing a very successful trade in furniture.

Having cleared a fortnight's worth of space in the house and shed, I felt able to become a Freegle recipient and we loaded a large heap of sturdy removal boxes into the back of Maria's car.
 
We were not celebrating Hallowe'en, even though we went out for a meal in a very sparkly restaurant, but I enjoyed the handiwork of someone who was.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.