MarkHyson

By MarkHyson

Treetop Protest

I've never been much of an environmentalist, to the degree I hardly ever recycle (there are no facilities for this where I live). Driving is a passion of mine and I like to get from A to B as quickly as possible. Regularly (almost on a daily basis) I drive from Hastings to Eastbourne and back. Parts of the journey can be patience testing when traffic is bad, locals will understand!

After many years consultation the government finally gave approval for a new road to link from Sidley to St Leonards, although initial proposals had been for a longer road from near Hooe. The longer road would have been far better, in my opinion. Work has now started and activists have moved into camps along parts of the route.

Yesterday and today, I have tried to get close to the activists' camps. Yesterday I was unsuccessful although I did leave it quite late. Today, initially I came across some awkward security, bailiffs and police, but an officer from the latter gave me some tips. So off I trundled in my trainers (mistake) and visited all three of the camps which have been set up!

I wasn't met by angry anarchists, which I had envisaged. Everyone I spoke to was friendly and happy to talk, although some (understandably) preferred not to be photographed. The best of the camps was called 'Three Oaks'. Three majestic oak trees, each probably over 100 years old, stand in the path of the road and two of them will be felled. The picture above is a platform which has been constructed between two of them and where a tent was being erected... which was bigger than the platform! I also chatted for ages with a photographer from Reuters, about his three £5,000 plus lenses (16 - 35mm, 70 - 200mm and 300mm fixed - in case you want to know - oh, he had two 1Ds!)

In taking the opportunity to visit all three sites, I saw the devestation the road is going to cause. There is a large marsh area which is stunning, ancient woodlands, history dating back to Viking (yes) and Norman (think 1066) invasions; I hadn't realised the impact it would have, but you will be able to cut five minutes off your journey when the road is completed!

If you want to visit the camps, please contact me for locations. They may seem a little timid at first, but if you're friendly, they are too! Oh, and they need rope, strong polyprop and proper climbing rope, food is always useful and water.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.