Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Autumn fruits

I love chestnuts, if there is a reason for having a coal fire then this is it. When we took out our fire a few years ago and replaced it with a gas one, this was my regret. I know you can cook them in an oven but they are just not the same. They don't get that blackened crunchy over roasted bit on one side from being cooked in an oven. Still I can comfort myself that I've saved such a lot of money not buying them. I'm not fooling anybody though, especially not myself.
I went through to Falkirk via Kinross today to my college reunion, I know Kinross is a slight detour but I had to pick something up in a shop that way, so detour it was, it meant I got to cross the Forth by both of its 21st century bridges.
It was good to catch up, we are a small but select group, perhaps 30 of us there today including one former member of staff, but as college closed in the 80's and most of us are retired now, we don't do so badly.
Foul weather on the drive back, the M9 was not fun as the rain stotted off the road, fortunately it didn't last for long.
I didn't win a premium bond today :-( and I only did 5000 steps. Ah well, tomorrow is another day

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.