A murky start to the day

Got to Southbound M5 Gloucester services at 07:45 this morning, pouring with rain so I drove in my car rather than taking the bike.
You can see the distant hills shrouded in rain and the very wet ground in the car park. it's still raining heavily but not obvious as you can't really see it hitting the ground.
Gloucester services, both sides, are becoming quite famous and are visited by people who aren't going anywhere except to visit the services!!
However, there were a lot of people today heading South for the winter, I was amazed that everyone seemed to be heading the same way and then I remembered I was on the Southbound side of the M5! DOH!
The other photos show the inside of the services, all fresh bread, meat, cheeses, cakes, all made locally with locally sourced ingredients.
As we, Janice and I, were manning the poppy appeal stand the management told the cafe's to serve us free tea and coffee and give staff discount on food. I didn't eat anything but Janice had a delicous looking bread roll with bacon and black pudding for £1.25. I think the normal price is over £5.00. It's incredibly good quality but expensive but people are prepared to pay the extra for the quality.
Lots of other things on sale of course but it is quite an experience to visit so if you are travelling the M5 make sure it's one of your rest stops.
I finished at 13:00 and started again at Tesco Brockworth at 18:00.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.