Welcome Home, Major Storms....

My husband and I attended a very special memorial service at our church this afternoon for Major Harvey Storms whose fate in the Korean War was unknown until just recently so he was considered MIA for the past 70 years.  Last year, when President Trump asked the North Korean government to return the remains of casualties from the Korean War, they sent 55 boxes which required DNA for identification.  Major Storms had four sons and they each submitted samples.  Earlier this year, the familial match was made and Major Storms was no longer MIA.  He was coming home and today's service was an important stop on that journey, because Sam Storms, his oldest son, is a member of our church.  I always like to be at events early, before a lot of people are around, because I see special moments like this one.  No one else was paying attention to this quiet man in a Korean Naval uniform standing in reverence in front of the stage which was set for the memorial, but I saw a picture that I felt really encompassed the event.  Only later, did I find out that Elder Kim is a highly respected leader in Sae Eden Presbyterian Church and a retired Admiral in the ROK Navy who had traveled all the way from South Korea to honor Major Storms and express the gratitude of the South Korean people for his sacrifice and for all that America did to help South Koreans keep their freedom.  It was a very moving service and I have several more pictures which I would like to put into an album on Facebook in the near future, but this was one of my favorites........   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.