Imagine the view....

By btc

Wren's London: Old Royal Naval College...

...I thought that I would open up the buildings proper with a stunner (no, not St Pauls but to be honest these 2 domes look identical), as grand as buildings in the world come, it took me a long time to decide which angle to go for, I preferred one that only had one dome in it but felt that for blipping sake I need to show both), I might go back to get my single dome shot later on in the series.

Described by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation to be the "finest and most dramatically sited architectural and landscape ensemble in the British Isles' (not bad especially as Wren is reported to have offered his architectural services free of charge for this job), the buildings were originally constructed to serve a Seaman hospital in Greenwich (feel free to insert your own joke), it was then the Royal Naval college until 1998, it is now a museum and part of the University of Greenwich (that's all you want around a building like this, a bunch of tax dodgers.

Lord Nelson (him of the column in Trafalgar Square) dead body lay in state in the in the hospital until being taken to St Pauls Cathedral for burial.

I can recommend a walk round, Cutty Sark is only 2 mins away and the Royal observatory 5 mins, and it really is a beautiful structure.

Thanks all again for the lovely comments and stars for Temple Bar yesterday, it was nice to get such enthusiastic feedback about doing a Wren series.

Have a good weekend all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.