misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

The Last Squash to the Oven!

Yes, here she is getting her portrait taken in the great outdoors before heading inside to be roasted whole in the oven. I call her Cinderella #2 although she bears a long unpronounceable French name.
Please do not report me to the Pumpkin Abuse Board. Cindy has been living on the workbench in the garage, ripening since last October, not out freezing in the snow. I set her outside to get enough natural light for this blip.
I have posted the other homegrown heirloom squashes and their whole roasting process before. (If I were more organized and knowledgeable I would stick a link here. Do you mind scrolling back to November to see the squash family before and after they go to the oven?)
This Cinderella #2 squash has the largest circumference of any I've roasted so it will barely fit in my small oven.
Truth be told (TBT): I did not grow the Cinderella #2 from seed. I wanted to try one though. And there she was in a bin with her gigantic sisters at Walmart of all places. I imagine Walmart is like your Tesco?
I bought it to taste and also to save seeds for next season. On second thought, I realized these heirlooms were probably commercially grown in fields mixed with other pumpkins going to market. Cross pollination results in questionable plants and fruits.
So, today, after blipping her, she baked at 400ºF (204ºC) for an hour. Opened her up and found her to be far too stringy with little firm useful flesh. Scooped some of what was useful into the soup pot with other nice things including a miso base. And right after I send this off to you I will try a bowlful with additional Basmati rice. Result of the Experiment: Have no intention of growing Cinderella #2 myself or buying one again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.