a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Hello cheeky!

Looking even more like her Mum than ever, here is a portrait of my sister Janet.  As you can see she is looking very cheeky this lunchtime, whilst clutching a glass  of gigondas.  Nearly all of my portraits are mono,  (and I tend to think in terms of mono when shooting them), but I've tried producing this one in colour for a change.

It has been 2 and half years since Janet had her kidney transplant and it is wonderful to see her enjoying life so much, even if she has now given herself a form of tendonitis in both hands from overdoing the gardening (amongst other things).

As an extra, there's a mono portrait of Dad, who is 88 and suffers from Parkinson's disease.  He was doing very well today and there were little bits of his old sense of humour on display.  I had hoped to get a shot of him smiling, as its not something that he does often now - a side effect of the Parkinson's.  He did grin slyly once or twice today when making a dry humorous comment, but sadly I didn't manage to capture any on camera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.