Rodents rule

By squirk

Tonight's gig was at the marvellous Union Chapel. We got there early for food (all proceeds go to The Margins Project) and bagged great seats at the front of the top tier. It's a bit chilly up there so I went to drag my coat over my knees only to find there was no coat. Luckily, I discovered it over the back of the seat where I sat to have dinner. There were many coats over it at this time and the bar was packed, but the coat was tucked up safely underneath. It would have been a chilly journey home otherwise.

Camille O'Sullivan was fabulous. She coped admirably with the faults in the lighting, where the lights would go out and she'd run to a bit of spotlight so we could see her. All the songs were covers of Nick Drake and the Bad Seeds tunes and I did wonder as I looked around the crowd how many people had realised this (or how many had heard of Nick Cave). Certainly her stomping rendition of "Stagger Lee" seemed to throw people off kilter – folk too astonished to clap, perhaps, at the murderous assault on their ears. Camille looks quite docile and glamorous on the poster and if people had booked on that image alone...

I loved Jubilee Street and The Ship Song, especially.

As for the Union Chapel, it's always wonderful to enjoy a gig with a cup of tea and a Tunnock's Teacake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.